The cemetery, built in the style of the Dutch architecture of the time, is surrounded by walls and the year 1724 is engraved on the entrance pillar. The epitaphs and tombs, numbering 104, carry the authentic records of hundreds of people of Dutch and British nationality
The credit for its construction goes to the Portuguese Franciscan Friars in 1503. Originally made with mud and wood, it went under a lot of work with the Portuguese, Dutch and the British leaving their imprints on the place. Eventually it would come under the control of the Church of South India in 1949. Visitors are especially charmed by its gabled timber framed roof.
The seashells found here are unique and one often runs into dolphins in this area. It is the ideal blend of both the backwaters and the sea. The area itself has seen many new resorts and hotels crop up, which have facilitated the increase in tourist activity.